Chiropractor School

Chiropractic Adjustment

In the United States, there are currently 18 different accredited chiropractic institutions. These schools offer students courses and clinical experiences that will ready them for successfully passing national board examinations and prepares them for future patient diagnosis and treatment. National board examinations do not differ depending on what school you are enrolled in, however, chiropractic schools do differ in what they teach regarding chiropractic philosophy and treatment styles. There are some schools such as Palmer College of Chiropractic in Iowa (the first chiropractic school) that embrace the original teachings and philosophy of chiropractic and provide many hours of course time on teaching these treatment and health philosophies to their students. Other chiropractic schools such as National University of Health Sciences in Illinois provide their students with evidence-based teachings, integrating chiropractic concepts with other forms of care. Because a chiropractic school can offer a different curriculum, students who graduate and become active professionals in their communities will many times run their practices in different ways.

American Chiropractic Association

In 1897, D.D. Palmer opened the very first school of chiropractic in Davenport, Iowa. He was inspired to create a school such as this due to his apparent success in helping a deaf janitor regain his hearing following a realignment of his spine. At the beginning of the 20th century, the American Medical Association began requiring medical practitioners who were currently practicing medicine to hold a degree from an ACA-accredited institution. Because of this, D.D. Palmer was arrested several times and finally convicted. Because he was unable to continue at the school, he handed it over to his son B.J. Palmer, who had graduated from his father’s chiropractic college. B.J. Palmer created UCA (United Chiropractic Association), which helped with legal expenses should a chiropractor get arrested. By the 1920’s, enrollment at Palmer College of Chiropractic was over 1,000 students. Some chiropractors believed that the most efficient way to treat patients was with a combination of joint manipulation and other forms of medical care. These chiropractors were verbally and professionally attacked by chiropractors who believed only in straight chiropractic treatment. Because of these differences, the “mixed” chiropractors created the American Chiropractic Association (ACA). This association existed to advance the chiropractic profession through more education and research and encouraged additional modalities to be used in combination with manipulation. The ACA eventually merged with the UCA and became the National Chiropractic Association (NCA) in 1930. Since then, there are currently almost 50,000 practicing chiropractors in the United States and 18 different accredited chiropractic schools offering a comprehensive healthcare education.

References Cited in this Article

Find out more about Palmer College of Chiropractic.